Minimum Wage

Effective January 1, 2019, the State of Maine minimum wage ($11.00 per hour) is higher than the City of Portland minimum wage ($10.90 per hour), and a direct wage to tipped workers is at least $5.50 per hour.  As required by the City of Portland Minimum Wage Ordinance, whenever the State's minimum wage is equal to or higher than the City's minimum wage, employers must pay their employees the State minimum wage.  For further information or questions, please consult the City's Ordinance at:    and Maine Department of Labor at: https://www.maine.gov/labor/.

Please also note that as required by the City's Ordinance, in the coming months the City will be reviewing and applying the CPI-U to the City's minimum wage for calendar year 2018 in order to determine if there will be a City minimum wage adjustment effective July 1, 2019.  The CPI-U for calendar year 2018 is not currently available, and so please check back on this page for future updates.

This Frequently Asked Question List only provides general information/answers related to the City of Portland’s minimum wage ordinance and should not be viewed as legal advice. Please consult a lawyer to discuss the City’s ordinance further and to obtain any required legal advice.

Related Documents